The building blends beautifully into the circular structure of the bastion, has a tiled roof and a typical first floor verandah in wood along its front portion. Though it has been said that a network of secret tunnels runs beneath the bungalow, none have been found. Today, the Bungalow is the official residence of the Sub Collector.
On display here are beautiful murals depicting scenes from the epics, Ramayana and Mahabharata, and some of the Puranic Hindu legends. The palace also houses Dutch maps of old Kochi, royal palanquins, coronation robes of former maharajas of Kochi as well as period furniture.
Known for mid 18th century hand painted, willow patterned floor tiles from Canton in China, a clock tower, Hebrew inscriptions on stone slabs, great scrolls of the Old Testament, ancient scripts on copper plates etc.
One of the oldest existing Dutch palaces outside Holland, this quaint mansion was built way back in 1744 by a Dutch trader. In 1909 the palace was leased to the British and it served as their residency till 1947 when the British Raj came to an end in India and was later converted into a heritage hotel under Kerala Tourism Development Corporation.
The place is a unique combination of sea and backwaters rimmed by lush green coconut palms and paddy fields. The backwaters are a combination of lakes, lagoons, canals and estuaries.45 km’s from Ernakulam city, this lovely beach bordering Vypin Island is ideal for swimming. Dolphins are occasionally seen here.
The palace complex consists of The Hill Palace Museum, Ernakulam Tourism 49 buildings in the traditional architectural style of Kerala and is surrounded by 52 acres of terraced land with a deer park and facilities for horse riding. A full-fledged ethnos- archaeological museum and Kerala’s first ever heritage museum are the main attractions.
While its history laden streets tell many tales of the past, the `antique’ shops here, fittingly complement the ambience, overflowing into the two parallel streets, each with a story to tell. A must-see place for the tourists who swarm the area, these shops are as appealing as the feel of history.
The cemetery was consecrated in 1724 and is today managed by the Church of South India.
It is built facing the backwaters and a stroll along the long tree-lined coastal pathway that lines the backwater is well worth the time spent, especially late afternoon or dusk. The bustling backwaters, dotted with fishing boats, speedboats, ships, an be observed from this walkway that lines the coast. The walkway has two contemporarily constructed bridges, the Rainbow bridge and the Chinese Fishing Net Bridge.
It is the first church to have been built in the new European influenced style and tradition. On his 3 rd visit, Vas co da Gamma died here in 1524 and was originally buried in the church, fourteen years later, in 1539, his body was removed back to Portugal. Open on all days from morning till 6pm.